CIMF Governance

The CIMF is administered by a volunteer Board of nine Trustees, many of which are past presidents of CIM. New Trustees are elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) which is held in conjunction with the CIM Annual Meeting in May. Audited financial statements are prepared annually and approved by the Members at their AGM. All individuals who have donated annually are Foundation Members.




Edward Beswick, P.Eng., FCIM
CIM VP Western District, 2006-08
Founding member, CIM North Central BC Branch, 2000
CIM District Distinguished Service Award Recipient, 2003
CIM Life Member
Victoria, BC




Jacqueline Allison, CFA, Ph.D., P.Geo.
CIM Council Member, 2020-22
CIM Council Executive Committee Member, since 2020
Chair MES, since 2020
Toronto, ON


Carlos da Costa, M.Sc., Ph.D.
Chair, CIM MES Vancouver Chapter, since 2011
Chair, CIM MES Society, 2015-20
CIM Council Member, 2015-20
Vancouver, BC


René Dufour,  P.Eng., FCIM
CIMF Trustee Emeritus since 2015
CIMF Chair 1991-1997
CIMF Trustee since 1988
CIMF Founding Member 1972
CIM President 1988-1989
Montreal, Québec


Jean-G. Fortin, ing., FCIM
CIM Life Member
Brossard, QC



Garth Kirkham, FCIM, PGeo., FGC
CIM President, 2015-16
CIM Distinguished Lecturer, 2013
Vancouver, BC



Zoltan Lukacs, P.Eng.
Chair, Surface Mining Society, 2015-18
Chair, Society for Innovation in Mining and Technology, 2010-11
CIM VP Western District, 2008-10
Chair, Crowsnest Branch, 1990-91
Calgary, AB


Jan Nesset, P.Eng., Ph.D., FCIM
Chair, CMP Society, 2003
CIM Distinguished Lecturer, 2008
CIM Life Member
St. Catharines, ON


Nathan M. Stubina, Ph.D., P. Eng., FCIM
VP, CIM International, 2011-16
President, MetSoc, 2009-10
CIM Distinguished Lecturer, 2019-20
Oakville, ON


Christian West,  MBA
CIM Mining Society of Nova Scotia Member, since 2003
Dartmouth, NS